The 1 thing all creatives have in common

A study of the top 50 game-changing innovations over a 100 year period is reported to have shown that nearly 80% of those innovations were sparked by someone whose primary expertise was outside the field in which the innovation breakthrough took place.

Post-it notes, Xray, penicillin, saccharin, and even cornflakes are all stumbled-upon inventions; some of which were done by someone completely outside their field of expertise. Firework for instance, is believed to have been invented by an unknown cook in china…do your research 😉creativity-1452t3r

That says a lot to me about creativity. So imagine yourself teaching in a secondary school somewhere In the north for NYSC and then you stumble on an engineering breakthrough innovation while at it.

‘lol’. You say. ‘That rarely happens’. True! But it could happen. That’s what that study I started with tells us- that you can find the most amazing things in this most unexpected places. I’ll now tell you how you can make such happen.

you can find the most amazing things in this most unexpected places

The one important key to unleashing creativity and creating innovations is resourcefulness. Resourcefulness doesn’t necessarily mean having so many resources but rather being able to make useful whatever resource you have available.

Sticking to our example of a teaching role during your NYSC program – Yes you won’t have access to technological labs or resources; but you’d have access to other resources like textbooks, rudimentary tools, local technologies, and people with unique problems. Resourcefulness asks you a question of what you can do with what you have at hand!

Resourcefulness asks you a question of what you can do with what you have at hand!

To be resourceful, you’d have to look beyond what your resources can do and has done to what they haven’t done but can possibly do. You’d have to THinK- Think possibilities. Think function and not reputation; think ‘CAN’ and not ‘HAS BEEN’.

I recently boarded a bus for a long distance journey. Sitting beside me was an elderly woman. She sat close to the window and had to deal with the problem of the harsh sun rays which fell directly on her through the window. What she did was remarkable. She pulled out her scarf from her bag and made it into a curtain. Problem solved!

Think function and not reputation; think ‘CAN’ and not ‘HAS BEEN’.

That looks like a no brainer right? But I think it really illustrates my point. She was resourceful with what she had. She looked beyond the reputation of her scarf which has always been that thing she ties on her head for fashion sake to some function it could perform. She looked beyond what it has always done to what it could possibly do. She looked beyond the rules, broke them, and created new rules and that solved her problem.

Creative people have little regards for reputation and status quo. They think little of what can’t be and what has always been. They think more about what can be and what hasn’t yet been. They are futurethinkers; possibility-makers. They are resourceful and you can be too.

They think little of what can’t be and what has always been. They think more about what can be and what hasn’t yet been.

BE Great!

One thought on “The 1 thing all creatives have in common

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Follow InspiredA4 on WordPress.com
It's an evergreen song for me.

Now hearing the lyrics even more clearly makes it even greener.

The clouds don't gather for my downfall, but rather for a downpour...a downpour that heralds in an HARVEST.

@Regranned from @tybello -  GREENLAND ( 2nd Verse):TY BELLO , CALLED OUT MUSIC and GEORGE( (THURSDAY SESSION) 'Standing alone can be heavy load .. but my vows I won't be breaking .. though my heart is aching . I got a word and I won't let go .. It's your will i'm seeking so I'll keep on believing...I see it now ..I understand .. I know.. so I embrace it .. dance in the rain ..it's for my seeds to grow.... for every prayer and every seed I've sown ..the Lord of the Harvest knows I'm reaping back a hundred fold .. THE LAND IS GREEN  The words of this song are more real to me now than they were 12 yrs ago when I blurted them out .. things can look scary and chaotic when it's just about to rain . The clouds gather and darken.. the thunder roars heavy but we must remember that it's never for our downfall.. it's for a downpour .. an outpouring from heaven .. heralding a lush and green season . .. For Harvest for Blessing .. embrace the signs ..a new season is come .. the land is green .. absolutely !! . My heart thanks @calledoutmusic for bringing this song back .. I've never sang it live but the words said everything I needed to hear. #thursdaysessions #recorded by @showgear_records #mixed by @psalmjazzy #filmed by @taiwo_jassy @adelodun_ #edited by @taiwo_jassy - #regrann
